Thursday, August 5, 2010

SAG National Board Candidates Announced

SAG yesterday released the official list of candidates for its upcoming national board elections.  Notably, all of the open seats in LA (the Hollywood Division) are held by MembershipFirst members, which means that, as was the case last year, MF can at best maintain its level of representation on the national board. More likely, it will lose some of its board seats.

On the Hollywood divisional board, MF could gain or lose, as all division seats are up every year. This contrasts with the national board, where approximately 1/3 of the 69 seats are up in any given year. The president and secretary-treasurer, who are ex officio members of the board, have two-year terms, and are not up for election this year.

Ballots in Hollywood and New York will be mailed on August 24 with a return deadline and tabulation on September 23. Election results are expected to be announced that evening.

The Hollywood Division will elect 13 national board members and 22 alternates. Twelve candidate positions will be seated for a three year term and one candidate position will be seated for a one (1) year term (all national board alternates serve for one year).

The New York Division will elect five national board members and nine alternates. Each seat is for a three-year term.

Directors holding nine other national board seats will be elected from SAG Branches outside Hollywood and New York. Most of them have already been elected - see below.

Hollywood Division National Board Candidates
Candidate names are listed in random order, as they will appear on the ballot. Affiliations – MembershipFirst, Unite for Strength or independent – are indicated where known. Incumbents on the national board (N) and Hollywood board (H) are indicated where known, with data on this based on information from SAGWatch.

Note that anyone from Hollywood who is on the national board is automatically a member of the Hollywood board as well, but not vice versa.

1.  Clancy Brown (MF)
2.  Esai Morales (MF, N, H)
3.  John Tremaine
4.  Mobin Khan
5.  Michael O’Neill (UFS)
6.  Woody Schultz (UFS)
7.  Ron Perlman (UFS)
8.  L. Scott Caldwell (UFS, H)
9.  Valerie Harper (MF, N, H)
10.  Bill Smitrovich (UFS, H)
11.  David Clennon (MF)
12.  David Hillberg
13.  Salazar
14.  Marisol Nichols (UFS)
15.  Pete Antico
16.  Bob Carlson (MF)
17.  Leigh French (Ind)
18.  Angela Watson (MF, N, H)
19.  Jane Austin (MF, N, H)
20.  Jeff Austin (MF, N, H)
21.  Scott Pierce
22.  Jenny Worman (MF, H)
23.  Joe Bologna (MF, H)
24.  Gabrielle Carteris (UFS, H)
25.  Assaf Cohen (UFS)
26.  David Jolliffe (MF)
27.  Sam Jaegar (UFS)
28.  Joe Stevens
29.  Amy Madigan (MF?)
30.  Sumi Haru (MF, N, H)
31.   Dawnn Lewis (UFS, H)
32.   DeWayne Williams
33.   Dileep Rao (UFS)
34.   Renée Taylor (MF, H)
35.   Paul Napier (MF)
36.   Mimi Cozzens (UFS)
37.   Christine Lakin (UFS)
38.   William Charlton (UFS)
39.   Clyde Kusatsu (UFS, H)
40.   Alan Rosenberg (MF, H)
41.   Conrad E. Palmisano (UFS)
42.   Larry Joshua
43.   William Mapother (MF, N, H)
44.   Bernie Casey (MF, H)
45.   Michelle Allsopp (UFS, H)
46.   Ned Vaughn (UFS)
47.   Jason George (UFS, H)
48.   Rico Bueno (Ind?)
49.   Patrick Fabian (UFS, H)
50.   Hector Herrera
51.   Marcia Strassman (UFS)
52.   Mandy Steckelberg (UFS, H)
53.   Clark Gregg (UFS)
54.   Bertila Damas (UFS)
55.   Jon Huertas (UFS)
56.   Joe d’Angerio (MF, N, H)
57.   Tara Radcliffe (UFS)
58.   Ellen Crawford (UFS)
59.   Alan Ruck (MF)
60.   Michele Santopietro (MF?)
61.   Clint Howard
62.   Donal Logue (UFS)
63.   Gilles Marini (UFS)
64.   Stacey Travis (UFS, H)
65.   Peter Kwong (MF?)
66.   Sarayu Rao (UFS)
67.   Jeff Garlin (UFS)
68.   Michael O’Keefe (UFS, H)
69.   Nancy Sinatra (MF, N, H)
70.   Jenny O’Hara (UFS, H)
71.   Matt Crabtree
72.   D.W. Moffett (UFS, H)
73.   Frances Fisher (MF, N, H)
74.   Carole Elliott (MF)
75.   Reneé Aubry (MF)

New York Division National Board Candidates
Candidate names are listed in order by randomly selecting a letter and then listing candidate names alphabetically by last name starting with the letter selected. The letter “U” was randomly selected, but there are no names that start with U, V, W, X, Y or Z, so the list wraps around, and “A” becomes the first to be listed. Following is the order in which they will appear on the ballot.

All listed candidates are part of United Screen Actors Nationwide, a NY based slate that generally votes the same as UFS, with the exception of Tom Nonnon, who is independent.

1.  Manny Alfaro
2.  Dave Bachman
3.  Marc Baron
4.  Justin Barrett
5.  Andrew Dolan
6.  Maureen Donnelly
7.  Nancy Giles
8.  Mike Hodge
9.  Richard Masur
10.  Sue-Anne Morrow
11.  Joe Narciso
12.  Tom Nonnon
13.  Jay Potter
14.  John Rothman
15.  Kevin Scullin

2010 SAG Regional Branch Division Board Election Candidates

Candidate names are listed in alphabetical order, as they will appear on the ballot. In most Regional Branches where candidates ran for office unopposed, the candidates may be declared elected without the necessity of a membership vote*.

Steve Fried* (elected)

Todd Hissong

Nancy Duerr* (elected)

Debra Nelson* (elected)

Robert Nelson* (elected)

New Mexico
Roy Costley* (elected)

San Francisco
Tom Chantler* (elected)

Abby Dylan* (elected)

Anne Sward* (elected)

Subscribe to my blog ( for more about entertainment law and digital media law. Check out my residuals chart there too. Go to the blog itself to subscribe via RSS or email. Or, follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook, or subscribe to my or Huffington Post articles. If you work in tech, check out my book How to Write LOIs and Term Sheets.